Peter essays

Today I came across Peter’s school journal. To get him writing, the book he used gave the lead sentence.

His essays show that you get information from Peter very differently depending on how you help him start.

Take a look at a few. The part in all caps was already written. The rest is Peter’s, including spelling and punctuation.

SWEET DREAMS

TO GET A GOOD NIGHT’S SLEEP YOU NEED… to make your eyes closed. Pajas to get you warm. Get in bed. I say my nighttime (I think he missed the word prayers).

**********

THE LAST MOVIE I SAW THAT I REALLY LIKED WAS…The lorax. It was a great film. It was based on the book by Dr. Seuss. The tiny orange guys name was Lorax. It was so funny.

**********

STORMY WEATHER

AFTER A RAINSTORM, I SOMETIMES SEE…a rainbow. The sun comes out. The sky gets blue or dark. After a evening thunderstorm I saw the moon.

*******

When the topic made him think in a specific way about bed, he was very specific. When the other two essays gave him a word like sometimes or stayed open ended about the movies, Peter gave more information. His thoughts did not get boxed in.

This made me think about how I ask him questions and our conversations. I have to try to stay open to give him the chance to do the same. When he was younger I had to stay very focused to get him to talk at all. Now I have to be the one to change to help him grow too.

One response

  1. tried to comment had trouble like the one about storms especially the moon after an evening storm

Leave a Reply

