Sandy: Peter made it

I knew quite a bit about Sandy before she got anywhere near the northeast. Peter, my in-house weatherman, was tracking her closely. His vocabulary grows with each storm. “Collide means crash into each other, right Mom?” That question made me think, maybe I better find out more about this Sandy, but I had a hectic week and company visiting from Germany, so I gathered information slowly as Peter offered it.

“Mom, Sandy is going to be rough. She is HUGE.” I asked him when he thought it would hit. “They think Monday. The Germans should be able to fly first.” How did he know I was wondering about that since our friends were flying on Saturday.

“Mom, I think we need a hurricane ready kit.” I asked him what he thought we should have in it. He listed water, batteries, flashlights, our crank radio.” Great, Peter was really getting us ready. Then he got his sisters in on the ready kit. Again, I could push the concern off a bit, we were doing what was needed.

At one point, Peter told me–“a two day hurricane, I don’t think I will last that long.” That day I googled Sandy to get more information–two days, really? Sure enough this storm was looking like it was really headed straight for us and going to be hanging around awhile. I was glad we were getting ready.

By the weekend, I had to give the storm some real attention. When Peter saw me watching the weather, he told me I needed to stop worrying so much about the storm. It was one of those who are you and where is Peter moments? I listened to him right away, telling him I had needed some information, but he was right I did not need to worry. I stopped watching. At another point, he saw me monitoring the early part of the storm and told me that hearing about the storm was making him nervous, so could I stop please.

There were times he was much less rational. He would practically cry why did Sandy have to stay so long or was Sandy ever going to leave. He would ask time and time again if we were going to lose power. In fact, Peter did not like the answer that I was not sure. He told me I am supposed to know everything.

When I told Peter that weather was hard to know, he asked if we could call God and ask him about Sandy. “I wish we could and I had a few other questions on the list too.”

“No, really, Mom, why can’t you predict the weather?” He was terribly frustrated by the whole thing.

My friend Katie suggested a chart to make the time more manageable. We broke the two days into 4-hour intervals with a long interval called overnight. Peter would check each one off and know we were getting through the storm. It helped him see he could make it through. He also watched a few weather reports and asked if Sandy was “raining herself out?”

Throughout the two days he wore earphones with his electronic games or the noise blocking ones, depending on what he was trying to accomplish. He was in sound control. A few storms ago I told him about Dr. Temple Grandin and how she is a lot like him. She doesn’t like noises and she feels things the way he does. I told Peter how she said he needed to be in control of the sounds for the weather to be less nervous. It has really helped. He even said to me “Who is that person like me again? She says I should control the sounds right?”

So weatherman Peter was in as much control as he could be. He had a kit ready. He blocked the sounds. He and Kit even made a weather video at one point.

Peter also listened to the weather people comparing storms. He can name quite a number of the hurricanes by name, location and year. For some of them he even knows what category they were. Peter says “Gloria was a gentle hurricane right Mom? Sandy, she was not gentle. She was really mean.”

7 responses

  1. Hahahahahahaha! Im laughing because Peter sounds so much like me! I can remember many names of hurricanes and years they hit, names that are retired, etc.

    I am glad you are okay. I found your blog through the tag “autism”

    Ivan

    1. Welcome to our blog. Glad you found it. Does the weather fascinate you, scare you, or both? For Peter is a love, fear relationship.

  2. Peter is a wise young man! You’re doing a great job, Patrice 🙂 Glad you’re all OK.

    1. Thanks. Hope you did well with the storm too.

  3. Peter,
    Your family is lucky that you are so knowledgeable about the weather. You gave them some excellent advice about a hurricane kit. 🙂 Dr. Accurso

  4. we find weather very fascinating! Thunder and lightning used to scare us when we were younger, until about age 19. Mostly because of sensory aversion to sudden unexpected loud noise, and bright light.

Leave a Reply

